Skip to content

A wonderful thing to hear

September 24, 2011

So last night I was reading through the old Facebook messages Bear and I wrote to each other at the beginning of our relationship, way back in 2008.

It made me think of all the mushy words, and the lovely things that he would say out of the blue. Although he still whips out the charm from time to time I can’t help wonder where the romance and uninhibited comments went. Dont get me wrong, I still love the way our relationship works, the independence and the amazing chemistry and the laughter and giggles. But I miss the beginnings that we had too.

Phrases like “Hello Beautiful you” and “So um Goldi when you read this i will be thinkin about you cause well you are always on my mind” and “We are a perfect match. Like each day we grow closer. I know I sound stupid but that’s what I think and I love it and you!!!” Little things like this, where its innocent and beautifully poetic in his own way. Now I knew when we started dating and began getting into a more serious relationship that Bear is not a romantic, so I was not surprised when some things fizzled out, including the comments mentioned above. (Not completely, but not said as often) But September Long Weekend he whipped this out,

“Babe, you’re the most beautiful woman I know, you are perfect and I love you”

I must have looked shocked because he quickly changed the subject. It was completely out of no where. It was just the two of us at our camp site, I was reading my smutty book and he, the newspaper, and he looks up and says this. Then quickly gets up and heads the truck afterwards. I’m sure I saw a blush. Anything that I doubted at any time was quickly diminished and I was reminded of why I fell in love with him in the first place. Like I said, I’m not sure where it all came from, but I wanted to share :)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gillian Colbert permalink
    September 30, 2011 8:26 am

    How wonderful! Thanks for sharing.

Got something to say? Post below!!!