Skip to content

#Random

July 21, 2012

 

I was in the grocery store today, list in hand, strolling down the aisles attempting to find everything on the list and a random thought crossed my mind:
I am going to be such a great Mom! lol Random, I know. So I continue to find whats on the list, some of which includes lunch snacks for Bear and Myself. As I travel down the “granola bar and snack” aisle I come across gushers, fruit roll ups, Dad’s bite sized cookies etc. All go into the cart.

Now I know what you are thinking… uh, Goldi, just because you pack a kick ass lunch doesn’t mean you’re going to be an amazing Mom, lol. Yes, I realize this. I have the perfect role model for being an amazing mom, my own Mum. :) She was always truthful with me, she rarely sugar-coated anything, she loved me more than life itself and she always made sure I was safe. I think that these four things made me the confident, knowledgeable, and caring person that I have become. Although she was protective of me, Mum always made sure I was an individual first, I didn’t giggle or act silly around boys, I always said my please and thank-you’s and I was respectful of all those around me. I’m not saying that it was always cotton candy and rainbows in our house,  I have to admit there have been times where I just wanted to walk out the door or scream my heart out at her because “she wasnt listening” but I’m glad that we got all of our yelling and fighting out-of-the-way. I’ve come to the conclusion that although we are super close, we did “fight” or argue a lot while I was a teen because we are very similar: we are both very stubborn when it comes to having it our own way, neither of us lose gracefully and we are such empathetic people who sometimes have a hard time  taking a step back and analyzing before tearing someone’s head off. So thank you Mum, for providing me with someone to look forward to “sounding like” or “acting like”. So I will end this random post with something Mum always says:

“I only get you for a short while, then I have to share you with the world”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2013 10:58 am

    You mom sounds like an amazing woman.

Got something to say? Post below!!!

