Skip to content

Philosophy of Love…

January 17, 2012

I am currently enrolled in a Philosophy of Love and Sex course.
So far there isn’t a sex part lol but the discussion of love, the nature of love and what love is, is proving to be more difficult than I had first anticipated.
For example, we are studying Plato’s Symposium  first, and for those of you who do not know what a Symposium is, it is a Greek practice where males would gather together for drinks and conversation, the only women ‘allowed’ within the Symposium, are the Hetaera, or high-end prostitutes.

—- Just as a side note if I were living in Ancient Greece I would rather be a free prostitute (or Hetaera) than a slave to domesticity. By doing so I would be educated in the fine arts, conversation, sexual practices, music and a number of other things.

Continuing on. The Symposium has a series of speeches about love, and what love means. In class we havent actually gone through the text as of yet, but we have been discussing love as a general idea. We also went into depth about eros. Which is an Ancient Greek term for both love and desire, depending on who you are quoting. For example, the Ancient lyric poet, Sappho, believed that love and desire are intertwined and more always together. She also speaks about how we love what we lack. Or we only love once we realize we are lacking something. The idea of loving because of the lack is interesting, although I am not going to expand. We also have discussed in class, that to love is to lose one’s self. I am not sure if I agree with this. To love is to lose? I dont think so. I think that to love, is to gain, an expansion of yourself. Although you may give yourself to that person, or object, I believe that if it is reciprocated you would be able to receive a part of that person as well, therefore you have lost nothing, but expanded and gained.

Is love an experience?
Is love a physical reaction?
Is love  Mental?
Is love spiritual?

What exactly is the definition of love? Personally I had my own definition before entering the class, and now I am not so sure if I still believe, or  can justify what I thought it was with the evidence to support it. Love is such a relative term in itself. It means many different things, and the term usually has different definitions to different people.

So I ask all of you… what is your definition of love? Obviously nothing is wrong, but I want to hear what you have to say.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 11:18 pm

    i have heard that true love is finding self love through another. something about that i think i like.

    • January 18, 2012 8:08 am

      I think I am on the same wave length as you:)
      xox

      Thanks for the comment!!!!! *face-splitting smile*

  2. January 18, 2012 6:13 pm

    Love is something you do. It’s any action informed by concern for another, elevated over concern for oneself. That’s my definition.

    • January 19, 2012 11:34 am

      ooo!! I like that!
      So you believe it can be a physical action, as well as emotional concern, and then you are gaining a ‘self’ rather than losing.
      Is that correct?

      xox

Got something to say? Post below!!!

